50 Years of Stupid Grammar Advice : Them’s Fightin’ Words

I was introduced to The Elements of Style about ten years after it was revised and expanded. I learned to treasure its advice, and I still keep a copy close to my work area. So this article by the Head of Linguistics and English language at the University of Edinburgh seems awfully wrongheaded to me. Maybe the criticism comes because the author speaks British English. When I’m faced with a sticky point of grammar, I still hear the advice of this slim volume, Get the Little Book. Get the Little Book, and reach for my copy of Strunk and White.

Respond to 50 Years of Stupid Grammar Advice : Them’s Fightin’ Words

Leave a Reply

