Why We Speak

 

Here’s a post that captures the feeling and the trials of preparation, the difficulty of speaking, and the joy of getting it right.

Here’s a taste:

I was checking the Twitterstream one day and saw an interesting tweet directing me to Ignite! I really liked the concept of having five minutes to discuss anything, so I thought about what I would say in five minutes. I thought long and hard…five minutes to make a difference, what could I possibly say that could bring something to someone?

I decided I had a great topic and would share my trials and tribulations of being fired four times (plus I was looking for speaking opportunities for practice and to put myself out there). So I submitted my proposal for my five minute inspirational presentation about being fired four times and how I was still standing on my own two feet.

It was accepted!

Then I realized the true challenge of having five minutes…there would also be a 20 slide presentation to accompany the slide. The 20 slides would automatically rotate every 15 seconds

Well worth checking out the whole post:

 

via The Eloquent Woman: A blog on women and public speaking: Jennifer Cohens very public first talk.

Respond to Why We Speak

Leave a Reply

