An athlete decides to get a speaking coach

Speaking has been the little demon in my closet for my whole career and despite me pumping myself up because I wanted to do well, Monday was no different. I was to give a 2-3 minute talk accepting my award and explaining what inspires me to give. Sounds easy enough right???? WRONG!!! ….I didn’t know what I could say that was going to be as appealing to the crowd and I was the only female. I certainly couldn’t be outdone by 3 guys!!

Denise Graveline shares the story of an athlete who resolves to get a speaking coach to match her speaking appearances to the quality of her game. Most of us have chosen club meetings and evaluations instead of a speaking coach as a first step. But do we match the dedication we read about here? How have you resolved to improve your speaking this year? What additional steps can you take to keep growing as a speaker?

Posted via web from Clippings

Respond to An athlete decides to get a speaking coach

Leave a Reply

