Motivation and Persistence: My year of public speaking

Last year, in the column I usually (but not today) write at the back of this magazine, I advertised my services as a public speaker. I did this not because I was any good, but because I wasn’t and wanted to be. “At the risk of humiliation,” I wrote, “I want to come to talk to your school, business, darts team, whatever. I do not require, nor indeed do I merit, any payment.” I received more than 400 requests.

A pretty remarkable (for the determination and the effort) story of one speaker’s program to get better. Pointed out on Twitter by Denise Graveline (@dontgetcaught). Check her blog for her thoughts on Robert Crampton’s quest; then decide how you’re going to get better as a speaker in 2010.

Posted via web from Clippings

Respond to Motivation and Persistence: My year of public speaking

Leave a Reply

