Just Sayin’

In Grammar Bullies Are The Worst, 99U asks (begs is more like it, I think) us to reconsider what we’re we’re trying to accomplish as grammarians

“The way we evaluate our competence is relative to other people,” he says. “If I need to feel good about my language skills, one way that I could do that would be to give myself evidence that my language skills are awesome. Another is to give myself evidence that other people’s language skills suck. So by putting down other people, I can feel better about myself.”

 

When you correct anyone (about anything) stop and ask why: is it to make yourself feel better? Or to genuinely help and inform?

Respond to Just Sayin’

Leave a Reply

