Substitute…then think about it

“I think as an artist it’s very easy to [equate self-worth with artistic success] because of the nature of the work. If you think of art as a job, then your product is so much more than hours invested. The product is a piece of yourself, so of course if the reception is not the greatest, then it can feel like a direct hit to who you are as a person. I think this happened a lot more when I was younger and still finding my way around. I would doubt my direction when a viewer wasn’t thrilled. The trick for me is not to put more distance between my work and myself, but to close that gap completely. I can see myself in the art that I create, and that builds a wall of confidence.”

Substitute speaker for artist in this passage from Explore. Do you think you end up with a pretty coherent explanation of the importance of speaking well and of providing careful, thoughtful, and fair evaluations as well?

Respond to Substitute…then think about it

Leave a Reply

